Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County (AHCMC)

About the Public Art Trust

The Public Art Trust began in 1995 when the public art program was restored by a new law. Chapter 8 of the Montgomery County Code, Article VI Works of Art in Public Architecture, Section 8-45 states: “Each year the County Council should consider appropriating funds for the next fiscal year to the Public Arts Trust in an amount equal to 0.05% of the combined total approved capital expenditures for the then-current fiscal year for County Government, Public Schools, Montgomery College and Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission.”

The precursor to the Public Art Trust began in 1983 when the County Art in Architecture Program mandated that 1% of certain County capital projects be set aside for the acquisition and commissioning of artworks. At the same time, separate public art programs were administered at Montgomery College, Montgomery County Public Schools, and the County parks system. More than 200 works were collected during these programs.

Today, the Public Art Trust continues to commission site-specific works and supports other public art projects throughout Montgomery County. The Trust is Montgomery County’s central program for managing and commissioning all public art on County-owned property.


Public Art Guidelines

AHCMC is proud to share our recently adopted Montgomery County Public Art Guidelines, a collaboration with our colleagues at the Montgomery County Planning Department. These guidelines both celebrate Montgomery County's existing collection of public art, commissioned by the County and private developers, and provide  parameters for successful projects.  Click here

Public Art Trust Committee

The Trust is guided by a Steering Committee that includes artists, business representatives, at-large members of the community and staff from County departments and agencies, including the County Department of General Services and the Parks Department of M-NCPPC.


Denise Kayser
City of Gaithersburg

Luann Korona
Department of Housing and Community Affairs

Erica Leatham, Esq.
Ballard Spahr LLC and AHCMC Board member

Catherine Matthews
Montgomery County, Upcounty Region

Patricia McManus
Maryland National Capital Park & Planning Commission

Hamid Omidvar
Department of Planning and Implementation

Greg Ossant
Department of General Services

Robin Riley
Department of Recreation

James Song
Montgomery County Public Schools

Patricia Shepherd
Department of Transportation

Molline Smith
Department of Planning

Shellie Williams
Gaithersburg Arts Barn

Betty Wisda
City of Rockville

Claudia Rousseau
Montgomery College

Michele Cohen, Ph.D.

801 Ellsworth Drive
Silver Spring, MD 20910
T: 301-565-3805 | F: 301-565-3809

© Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County. All Rights Reserved.
Site developed by Wood Street, Inc Wood Street, Inc.